tomb chess

Tomb Chess

Divide and you will reveal!
Strange name, real matters
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
hennybogan1953 13 ( +1 | -1 )
draws question: how many moves without either side capturing a piece results in a stalemate? Does GK recognize this?
brobishkin 10 ( +1 | -1 )
And the answer is... 50 moves... But I really have no idea on whether GameKnot programming realizes this rule...

Bro...
cairo 29 ( +1 | -1 )
50 move rule is not a Stalemate, its just a draw since either side has not capturing a piece or pawn.

You will have to mail Mike of Gameknot directly, to have an answer to your question :-))

Best wishes
Cairo
brunetti 6 ( +1 | -1 )
To be more precise... ...not capturing a piece or pawn and not pushing any pawn.

Alex
cairo 3 ( +1 | -1 )
brunetti I stand corrected :-))

Soren
brunetti 5 ( +1 | -1 )
Cairo you haven't mentioned pawn pushes! :)

Alex
More: Chess
calmrolfe 139 ( +1 | -1 )
FIDE rules of Chess

Article 5: The completion of the game

5.2 The game is drawn when the player to move has no legal move and his king is not in check. The game is said to end in stalemate. This immediately ends the game, provided that the move producing the stalemate position was legal.

The game is drawn when a position has arisen in which neither player can checkmate the opponent's king with any series of legal moves. The game is said to end in a dead position. This immediately ends the game, provided that the move producing the position was legal.

The game may be drawn if each player has made the last 50 consecutive moves without the movement of any pawn and without the capture of any piece.

Cal - I don't think I've ever seen a game declared dead position. I guess the players usually agree a draw well before this situation arises.

Can anyone supply a master game that finished in this way ?

Kind regards,

Cal

game 30 ( +1 | -1 )
dead position I have seen something happen similar to this in a game I played in at a tournament. I had a rook, king, and pawn and my opponenent had a rook and king but the tournament director said the game was a draw because my opponent kept checking me and i could not make him stop without giving up my pawn
More: Chess
brunetti 34 ( +1 | -1 )
This rule applies only in quick play finish (QPF) games, e.g. 40 moves/2 hours + 1 hour to finish, where you can't win on time if the position isn't winnable "in normal way", like in your game.

In standard time games, e.g. 20 moves/hours, dead position are those where mate isn't possible whatever the players will move.

Alex
hennybogan1953 8 ( +1 | -1 )
what if you move the same piece back and forth 3 times is that a draw?
blindio 25 ( +1 | -1 )
It's a draw... if the same position is repeated three times in a game. The repetitions don't have to be consecutive. In a tournament you have to draw your opponent's (and if necessary the referee's) attention to it. I believe GameKnot recognises a threefold repetition and draws automatically. (But I may be wrong ;)
taoistlunatic 50 ( +1 | -1 )
yes, gameknot is automatic, 3-move rep. Draw. I first experienced this when in a losing game against a strong player. I was down a pawn, and had a weakened position. I played defense by moving a piece back and forth along it's optimum squares, my opponent refused to let go of his crushing position and after the third repeated position, a pop-up appeared asking me if I wanted to force a draw, which I immediately did of course.

I don't think my opponent knew of the rule, as he probabaly could have won by making an inferior move and avoiding the repitition.
tulkos 2 ( +1 | -1 )
inferior? how could it be inferior if it won?
taoistlunatic 37 ( +1 | -1 )
explanation board #189031
Actually I wasn't a pawn down, but almost. And white was obviously winning. I meant inferior because his obvious move was the one he kept repeating, but if he backed off my king, and made a different move, he could have still won, but it would be more a more difficult game.
tulkos 3 ( +1 | -1 )
actually,I think it was a draw. at least thats my 2 cents.
brunetti 7 ( +1 | -1 )
I agree with tulkos I don't see any advantage to either side; it's almost a dead draw, IMO.

Alex
taoistlunatic 3 ( +1 | -1 )
Yes, I had offered a draw earlier but was rejected So naturally I forced the issue! :)
taoistlunatic 10 ( +1 | -1 )
But I still feel white had a better king position and black would have have to play harder to draw. So why not just do it with no effort.? :)
taoistlunatic 2 ( +1 | -1 )
Forgot to mention that white is rated over 2000, so I was happy to draw.